Steak Au Poivre (Steak with Peppercorns)

As I mentioned in my new year resolution long term/short term goals, I have decided that we need to eat healthier. We all know that grabbing a twinkie or a bagel with cream cheese is never good for you. I’ve definitely graduated from the nights of the ramen noodle or the frozen chicken nuggets. Now in all honesty, I think the last time I had all of that stuff had to be well over 5 years ago and I don’t crave it one bit! I’m perfectly ok with ordering a salad in a restaurant and I turned something like the going to the gym into a habit and a way of life (Thanks to my wifelet for that one!)

So with that being said, I’m still a human. I still love food and I’ve learned to love cooking. Diet food is bland and boring and I’m a “spice whore.” I don’t want my potatoes to be plain, I want them to taste like garlic. Get what I’m saying? Yup, spice whore. I like it. 🙂 Thank you to the GORGEOUS Rocco Dispirito who published his cookbook “Now Eat This!”  As a chef, he keeps the flavor together but he worked with a nutritionist to knock the calories and fat grams out. I encourage you all to make these small changes to your every day cooking! Let’s remove the stereotype that all Americans are overweight!! 🙂

Toblerone’s Tasting Table:

Well, most Americans are right ?!?! Just kidding 🙂 The Germans are the fattest people all over Europe, so that tells you enough about our eating habits…

Now to the steak, I have to admit that my friend Max and I got this served after about 6 hours of PS3 gaming, 6 big beers each and an hour of jacuzzi at least which overall made us super hungry for almost anything.

However, I really liked what I got there. The meat was very tender and the pepper cognac mix on top added a very spicy almost hot flavor. Overall I would say a 8. Since I really love to eat spicy food, this was exactly what I needed after a long day of gaming 🙂
Until next time readers…
Cheers, Toblerone

Normal Steak Au Poivre:                                                                                          Calories 1,325                    Fat  86.3 grams

Revised by Rocco:                                                                                                  Calories 294                        Fat  7.8 grams

What you will need:

4 Tablespoons and 1 teaspoon very coarsely ground black pepper

Four 4-ounce lean filet mignon (about 1 inch thick)

Salt

Nonstick cooking spray

2 Tablespoons Brandy or Cognac

1 1/2 Cups Evaporated skim milk

1 1/2 Tablespoons cornstarch

1. Heat a skillet over high heat

2. On a plate, place 4 Tablespoons pepper and season steak with salt and cover completely only one side of the steak. You may need to press the steak down so the pepper sticks on there good. I didn’t have any problems with it.

3. When the pan is hot enough, spray in cooking spray – a generous amount. Add in steaks, pepper side down first. Cook both sides until desired and transfer to another plate.

4. Add in brandy or cognac and remaining 1 teaspoon pepper. While the brandy reduces, whisk evaporated skim milk and cornstarch in a small bowl. I couldn’t find evaporated skim milk so I used regular skim milk.

5. When brandy reduces to about half, whisk in milk mixture. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to low and whisk constantly until the sauce thickens. Note: Since I used only milk & Cornstarch, I added in a beef flavored bouillon cube for extra taste.

6. Spoon sauce over steaks and voila!

Hope you enjoy this as much as we did!

Until next time, Readers!!! xoxoxoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

