German Music – Schlager Singers

When I moved to Germany I didn’t really think that they had their own music. Of course they have music that is sung in German but do they have their own special distinctive sound? Well, I’m happy to tell you…there is such a thing! This is called, Schlager (Shh-Lag-Err) Music. I’ve asked a few people to explain to me what this is and the best way I can explain it is, “German Party Music.” It’s basically Barney on crack. Seriously.

The Schlager music is usually upbeat happy music talking about Love, Puppies, and Rainbows. True Story. To me, however, it seems like 70’s music with overwhelming smiles. Lots of keyboard effects maybe that makes it more like the 80’s even! But I’ll let you be the judge for yourself. Here are a few Schalger Singers that are pretty popular here. These songs are not normally played on the radio but they are known by the Germans since these songs are played at festivals and things. Now of course they have yodeling as well…one of my favorites is the song, “We are a Yodel Family.” Check it out..but then back to the Schlager stuff!

Back in the 60’s there was a tv show made around a boy who could sing these type of songs very well. Let’s start with Heintje.

Then we have the very popular Andrea Berg. She’s been around quite a while and has found herself as a guest judge on Deutschlands Superstar (basically German Idol.)

Here is the newest addition to the Schlager Singer world. She is in her 20’s and her beauty pulls at the heartstrings of all the men around these parts! Introducing, Helene Fischer

And my all time favorite…CHEESY CHEESY Fantasy. I’ll leave this for you to think about.

And of course the winner of Deutschland’s Superstar with her winning Schlager Song. Beatrice Egli

What do you think of it? How would you explain this type of music?

Until next time, Readers!!!! xoxoxoxo