Expat to Expat Q&A – August

I’m linking up with a bunch of other expat bloggers for a monthly Q&A about where I am living! You can find all the other blogs that participate on Bailie’s Blog or Belinda’s Blog. These two ladies put together a fun questionnaire for us expats to fill out and without further ado….here are my answers!

August Questions:

1. What is your favorite food store in your city and why?
This depends on what I need. I try to buy as much as I can at Aldi’s first and then go to Kaufland which has more options, fresher, fruits and veggies, etc. If the Toblerone has run out of lunch meat and bread, then I go to the bigger store. But if I need toilet paper then Aldis.
35979_1_articlegross_B82121168Z.1_20091228162109_000+GUH57IB2.2

2. For your answer to number 1 is it ok to buy the store brand items or do you pay extra for a name brand? In my opinion, the quality of German food is ten times better than that in the US. But I’ve never been a name brand snob when it comes to food. Maybe a little bit with clothes 🙂 But mostly, I buy store brand items if available.

3. What do you think is the best way to get about your city? (i.e. bus, bike, car, etc.)Transportation in the country is crazy good. But I stick to the car for everything. Only because I’ve yet to put on my big girl panties and try the whole bus thing. I could technically ride my bike but then I would have to ride it back up the hill I live on and I’m just not into that kind of torture!

4. Which store do you turn to for basics like toilet paper or cleaning supplies? Aldis is the best! But Aldis is also very different that that of the one we have back home in the US. The quality is better.

5. Where do you think is the best place in your city to get a cup of coffee (or beverage you prefer) and catch up with friends? Well, if I had friends…lol, any coffee shop would do! There are so many bakeries around. The most popular one around here is called the Backhaus (Bake House). Germans and their 3:00pm coffee and cake time! But, We recently bought our 3rd coffee machine (dont ask) and I prefer to drink my coffee at home!
lw4

Plus these questions from Emma, at Adventures of a London Kiwi:
1. What was your “eureka, I’m practically a native” moment? This is a tough question. I think mostly when I’m talking to the locals and I say something in their dialect. (Schwabische Dialect). They laugh when I speak like them because this isn’t the German I was taught, this is the German I’ve learned from living her so long and listening to them!

2. Does your real accent get in the way? All the time! I always try to use German as much as possible and I really hate it when I’m talking away and then the Germans respond to me in English. I always think, “Is my accent really that bad? Is it that obvious that I’m just another Ami?!”

Until next time, Readers!!! xoxoxoxoxoxo

7 thoughts on “Expat to Expat Q&A – August

  1. Re: the sink water, assuming it´s because it is hard (like here) – get a Brita filter. Works wonders.
    My husband is all over Aldi, where as I´m a Norma girl. But yeah, food here is at least 10x better. I have a whole routine here for groceries. Our closest are only a 7 minute walk, so I walk past our little local vegetable guy to see what he has (because you never know), hit Norma for the basics, and then Tegut. we don´t have a car, we do car sharing – and we hit up Real once a month or so for major shopping. It´s sooo different. I was soo used to the whole car thing in the States. Here I don´t even have a license. There are times I miss having one, but then the practical side of me says – for what? with the parking situation here, and the pedestrian zones everywhere you turn, in Bamberg, it wouldn´t even make sense for day to day living. That said, should I win one, I wouldn´t complain. 😉
    And, on the whole bus thing? I feel ya. I´ve done it once.

    • I love the water from the sink (thats all I drink normally) but it is WAY too hard for our coffee machine. Lesson learned! lol.

      We have two cars but we live in the middle of nowhere, we definitely need two cars. We did one car for a long time and it just got crazy trying to organize!

      But the bus..thats just not happening! Its too hot anyways and without air conditioning and 800 people crammed in there? No thanks.

Leave a Reply

