The Morel Mushroom And A Recipe!

I have this secret and I might as well bring it out of the closet and confess to all of you. I like to look for mushrooms. Yes, that’s right. It excites me. I get that child-like excitement when I walk into the woods and search for them. There. I said it.

Me with a giant mushroom. Indeed, I love them!

Me with a giant mushroom. Indeed, I love them!

How big of a dork do you think I am now? Pretty big right? But hear me out…You go to the grocery store and look for Morel Mushrooms. Usually you can only find them dried. And for maybe a few dried pieces, 150 grams to 200 grams is a good $10-$15!! I’ve seen them priced at $50 a pound! And for me, I feel like I’m stealing! It’s exhilarating.
morel(3)

This time of year in Germany the Morel Mushrooms start popping up in the damp, mossy parts of the forests. Theres a special place that Toblerone takes me and I get out my special mushroom smelling nose and I search. And search hard. These babies are NOT easy to see and most of the time blend in with the pine cones around you.

So, I found 4 large ones and decided it was time to make something yummy with them. There are some great places in the US where you can find these and if you have kids, its actually something really fun to do with them.
IMG_5356

Here’s a little recipe for the morel mushrooms:

What You Need:

1/3 cup diced onion
4 Tbsp butter
6 Fresh large Morels, sliced in half vertically, then slice horizontally to get smaller pieces.
2 Tbsp flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 freshly ground pepper
1 tsp sugar
1 Tbsp Soy sauce
1/3 cup left over noodle water
Spaghetti or angel hair pasta

IMG_5360

How To Make It:

Cook pasta according to package instructions

In a large sauté pan sauté onions in 2Tbsp butter for 2 minutes until clear and slightly browned.

Make a roux out of the remaining butter and flour. Then add the soy sauce, salt, pepper, and sugar. Stir constantly until the consistency of peanut butter.

Turn heat to low – add morel mushrooms and let cook for a a minute or two.

Once noodles are finished add a little leftover noodle water a little at a time to the roux. Stir carefully. You don’t want the sauce to be to watery so allow the roux to work with the water to thicken.

Cover and cook 10 minutes.

Drain noodles then pour noodles into the saute pan and mix until noodles are covered in the mushroom sauce. Serve warm.

I hope you all are able to find an area where you can search for them on your own! Be sure you don’t pull the mushrooms out of the ground. You must cut them from their stalk so that they grow next year! Guten Appetit!

Until next time, Readers!!! xoxoxoxoxo

10 thoughts on “The Morel Mushroom And A Recipe!

  1. Morels are wonderful, but, like you said, hard to find. In our area, people are keeping their morel places secret so no one else will poach them. I love them just cooked in butter with a bit of salt and pepper. Later in the year, I am lucky to have chanterelles (Pfifferlinge) growing on my own property…

  2. I am green with envy. I found NONE this year. I went too early our neighbor found a bag full last week.

    FYI; As many as you can possibly get ;wash them slice the large ones in half leave small ones whole. Soak in salt water in the fridge overnight and pat dry. Roll in mixture of half cornmeal and flour salt and pepper. Fry in butter til crispy. Serve with at least two cases of ice cold beer 🙂

  3. We really like this recipe! It uses such simple ingredients that we have on hand. The onion is the only thing we have to pick up. We find hundreds of morels (sometimes in one day) so we end up using about 20 instead of 4.

Leave a Reply

