Chicken Marsala – Totally Worth It

As most of you may have figured out I’m beyond addicted to a cute little website called Pinterest. It’s going to be the death of me, however, it’s really sparking me to get a grip and do things better. I decided a while ago that I wanted to expand my repertoire in the cooking field and this I am doing with the help of other’s super easy recipes. I came across this website called Savory Sweet Life and in it I found this recipe for Chicken Marsala.  Toblerone loves the beef or chicken flavored gravies. When he was a a little tot…that’s all he ate was bread and gravy so I knew this recipe would be one he could easily enjoy.

This is how mine turned out in comparison to the picture from the website below.

Please please please go check out Savory Sweet Life’s webpage! It’s INCREDIBLE!!! These are the exact pictures, recipe, and directions from the website so no credit to me! You should know that I used white wine instead of sherry and it was just as good. Next time I will try it with sherry just to see if there is a difference. It’s SO tasty and I absolutely will be making this again!

TOBLERONE’S TASTE TEST:

Well, I guess its the first time I am doing something like this, I mean, posting I guess, other then on Facebook probably. I am following Kaiti’s post longer then all of you do for sure but now I am at the computer, now I am in charge, as the Americans would say ! So I know, you  heard a lot about me and our lives here in Germany, all the bad things, all the good things, all the up and downs, everything. Thats not what I am supposed to talk about I guess… Well, if you care about my private life as well, here are a couple facts first, before I start rating the Chicken Marsala ! 1st of all, I am just getting out of our jacuzzu, sitting at the couch right now and thinking about food I have to write about in a blog, as I just got told…. Sounds weird to me. I am not a big writer. Me, the Toblerone, I am a soccer, snowboard, hiking outdoor guy. Very competitive and I also never can lose. Sitting here, thinking about food, and even worse, how to rate it. Maybe I can add some beer tasting ? I just got yelled at for that comment. Just got yelled at again for not getting to the point, or to Chicken Marsala. Ok fans, you will get more later,  big promise.

Here is the rating (To see my rating table go here): Years ago, I hated beans, I basically hated everything green, spinach, broccoli, beans, everything. Today, with a good piece of steak or chicken and I dont care about the green stuff.  The first thing I told Spice when I ate the Chicken Marsala was that I really love it, and I meant it. The chicken was super tender and moist, the mushrooms perfectly cooked and even the beans (I hated years ago) were better then expected. Overall I would say, it was an 8 out of 10 points. I have to say, I compared it to some food in the past (I dont want to specify any closer) which was a 4 or so at most. So, for me an 8 is like super good. Ok people, thats it for now. As Spice would say, until next time readers! Cheers Tobi





Chicken Marsala Recipe

Ingredients
2  skinless, boneless, chicken breasts
salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup all purpose flour or corn starch for gluten-free
up to 1/2 cup  olive or vegetable oil
8 ounces container of mushroom, sliced and cleaned
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup sweet Marsala wine
1/4 cup chicken stock
1/4 cup sherry or dry white wine
Optional: 2 tablespoons  heavy cream
Garnish with chopped parsley or oregano

Directions:
Split each chicken breast through the middle to make 2 pieces.  Place plastic wrap over them and pound each one flat using a meat tenderizer/mallet until they are about a quarter inch thick.  Season a good amount of salt and pepper on both sides of each piece.  Place some flour on a plate and and dredge each piece of chicken in it.

Heat the oil over medium-high heat and when the oil is hot fry each piece of chicken for 3-4 minutes on each side until they are golden brown (this may require you to do this in 2 batches). Remove chicken and place them on your serving platter covering them with foil.

Reduce the heat to medium and add butter and mushrooms.  Saute mushrooms for 4-5 minutes making sure to season them with salt and pepper lightly.  Add marsala wine, sherry, cream, and chicken stock allowing the liquid to reduce slightly – approx. 3 minutes.  Pour mushrooms and sauce over chicken and serve. Enjoy!

 

NOW GO OUT AND MAKE IT!!! STAT!

Until next time, Readers!!!! xoxoxoxoxoxo

4 thoughts on “Chicken Marsala – Totally Worth It

  1. Chicken Marsala is a very great dish! David makes it at least once a week! Instead of button mushrooms you should try and use Shiitake mushrooms!! They have a sweet taste to them!! Much yumminess!!! Now time to figure out something for breakfast while at work drooling over the marsala!!!

Leave a Reply

