You Know You’ve Been In Europe Too Long When…..

As Toblerone and I arrived in the states yesterday it didn’t hit me how excited I was until we opened up the blind of the window. Seeing the skyscrapers of NYC sent my heart into a flutter and I finally knew I was home. Ahhh….home 🙂

After the slight car rental fiasco I immediately started to make a list of all the things I’ve missed. This may end up being a Part II and Part III type of topic because the list I made yesterday (in 3 hours) was a little too long. Guess I was more homesick than I thought. Let me share with you the instant differences I saw in under 24 hours.

1. The Cleaner Bathrooms

The bathrooms in Germany are always clean. This includes the public bathrooms. We get to NYC and I almost barfed! The doors to the stalls were half on and a makeshift MacGyver-esque door latch. What is the situation here people? I won’t even get into the inside of the stall anymore than that but you can only imagine. I think I used up all the soap in the bathroom…*gag*

2. The 501

There was some construction on the roads and warning signs of the necessary speed limit and such per usual and these signs happened to be the yellow flashing light signs. Each time I saw one I thought we were getting a ticket for speeding. The flashing stations in Germany have completely scarred me!

3. Wie Gehts/ What’s Up?

Having conversations is proving to be difficult. I keep getting my languages mixed up! So as I’m speaking English it’s automatically translating to German in my head! The quicker words like “No” comes out “Nein”….or “Really” is “Wirklich”…so confusing!  I catch myself not talking like my typical NYer self! Usually I talk so fast I’m not sure how people understand me but now I talk like half of my brain is Kaputt …ahem…I mean broken.

4. Roadkill

I’m not sure why it’s so strange to see dead animals in Germany. I mean people drive like maniacs over there, they don’t have straight roads only all curvy (except the Autobahn), and are surrounded by forest after forest. So you would think the chances of hitting an animal would be high. Here in the US…they are EVERYWHERE! I must have counted 5 or 6 different animals over the course of a few hours! AMERICANS! get it together!!

5. Groceries

We were looking for an ATM since we only had Euros on us and that certainly wouldn’t get us through all the toll roads, obviously! So, we found a grocery store and as we walked in I almost died.  Everything is organized, clean, and there is everything you could ever want! And what did I see at first glance?? PUMPKIN FILLING!!! 🙂 German grocery stores are completely whack. They don’t make sense. Dogfood next to bread, underwear next to Dairy Aisle….what is the situation here, Germs? I think they like to make everything complicated for me!

6. Radio

You all know how I feel about the radio situation from my previous posts. The music in Germany is enough to send me to my grave…quickly. We started the radio in our beast of a rental car (GIANT suburban!) and I felt at home. The commercials were the best! I could UNDERSTAND them! Listening to them talk about a mattress store was heaven. That’s sad isn’t it?

7. YouTube/Pandora/Spotify

FINALLY!!!!!!!! AHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! I can watch anything I want without being told “This is not allowed in your current location.” Germany – don’t be a disappointment! Your people need to see the latest music videos, the cat that jumped from a building and survived, and celebrity mess-ups on TV.  I’m getting my fill so people….post the links to your favorite videos. I need to see them all! I’m currently listening to Pandora as I write this and I’m SO happy about that, I can’t even write it in words!!

So the list is to be continued…. 🙂 That was only in the first 24 hours! 🙂 Today I’m going to see my Daddy and my baby brothers! CAN’T WAIT!!!

Until next time, Readers!!! xoxoxoxoxo

One thought on “You Know You’ve Been In Europe Too Long When…..

  1. On arriving back in the UK after my 8 month stay in Canada, I relaised there was very little about the UK that I missed whilst away. The whole place just looked scruffy and dirty in comparison to Canada which is the cleanest country I have ever seen.
    Hope you enjoy the trip home.

Leave a Reply

