Typical American Halloween Party in Germany!

So what does a typical American Halloween Party entail? Drinking. End of story.

Halloween isn’t really celebrated here. I’m not sure what it means to everyone but I think they are picking up on the fact that American’s have the best parties in the world (besides Oktoberfest) and Halloween is a GREAT example of that. With everyone dressed up as a character…you already feel silly…and it makes for an even sillier party-goer! So, like I said, Halloween isn’t huge here so decorations are scarce. There aren’t any big Halloween Outlet stores or Party stores where you can shop till you drop for all your holiday decorations. Luckily, my mom sent me boxes of Halloween decorations which I am SO grateful for! With the things she sent me combined with the few items, I made…it was a hit!

Here are a few pictures of the decorations (I know…the pics aren’t that great…but you get the idea). This year I took a ride back to the past of 1980’s. Toblerone was Papa Smurf..which he was last year too but who cares! (It’s hard to find costumes here too….) Harley stayed with his Omi and Opi and had he been here…he would have been a big black spider! πŸ™‚ Well, a spider for 20 seconds before he ate his fake legs off.

I painted the brown bags with spiders, witches, cats, leaves, bugs, bats, pumpkin faces, ghosts, just about everything I could think of and lined them up the driveway and up the stairs in the house with. These took a long time to make but thankfully I had some help painting! (Thanks Ele!)

The previous owner left this perfect witches broom and I just decorated with some leaves and Wahhhh-BAM!

Spider webs are always key πŸ™‚ This is the walkway into the house after the mud room.

We set up tables around with little decorations and a “Potions” table so people could get their own drinks! πŸ™‚ Sorry for the bad quality of pictures! It’s so hard to take good pics in the dark…and I don’t know how to use our big camera just yet.

A Skeleton Vegetable man (thanks to Mom for the good idea on this one!) I like his “mushroom guts” πŸ™‚

The spread! πŸ™‚ Complete with candies, Clementine pumpkins (in the back), broccoli salad, veggie skeleton, avocado feta salsa, bread bowl dip, chocolate cake, buffalo chicken wing dip, mini meat sandwiches, and my cheese and fruit plate! πŸ™‚

All in all it was a good time and by the end of the night the jacuzzi was in full swing, loaded up with people! πŸ™‚

Happy Halloween, lovelies!! Be sure to give out lots of candy to the kiddies and promote cavities! πŸ™‚ That is a treat with a trick πŸ˜‰

Until next time, Readers!! xoxoxoxo

3 thoughts on “Typical American Halloween Party in Germany!

Leave a Reply

