30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 11

Day 11- List all the places you’ve lived and what you think about them

Maryland, U.S.A.

This is where sugar and spice and everything nice was first cooked and then taken out of the oven. Baked to perfection from scratch. Upon arrival, I had a large family complete with brothers and sisters, little did they know I would be the favorite.

Maryland was beautiful, we lived in the country miles away from other life forms but I loved it. I’m sure if I went back now I wouldn’t love it as much only because with imagination I had turned that house into the most beautiful place in the world. Do you remember playing make believe but you believed in it so much that it felt real? 

I moved when I was 4 but I ended up going back often to visit my dad and then again for college which was a GIANT mistake. Wish I chose another place…picking an all girls school was probably the wrong direction. lol. Anywho…My brothers, Dad, and step mom still live in Maryland so I’m still able to get back to it. It’s nice there if you go to certain areas. Most of it seems to be filled with hicks and terrible terrible bars but I guess with massive amounts of alcohol it’s easy to fall in love with any old place! Baltimore is nice when you go to the inner harbor. Toblerone LOVED it there and absolutely NOTHING can compare to the crab cakes. NOTHING, do you hear me?!?!?!

New York(upstate), U.S.A. 

     So here started the longest place that I actually stayed put for. I absolutely went through that awkward ugly stage…those who remember, I know…it was bad huh? Lets just say I think I look a little better now considering what I was. Braces..bad outfits…all of it. Not sexy.

I had the best friend who was the most gorgeous girl in school and all the older guys loved her. I was happy being the best friend that just got to hang out with all of them. Ha – eww..I was such a nerd. I figured my time would come when I could dip into the ocean and catch me some fish.  I was there in upstate, in the middle of farm land from 3rd grade until the middle of my junior year…and then….my step dad got a new job that would transfer us to Maine. Really? Maine???

I literally had to get a map and look to see where that was. I fought and fought this and tried to come up with plans to escape..I was 16 after all! Couldn’t believe I wasn’t allowed to graduate in the school I had spent most of my life…with the friends I had. Looking back now though, I’m glad we moved…I met some REALLY amazing people and that would have never happened if I hadn’t left. NY is where I was when I met Toblerone later in life, so I ended up going back but things changed. People changed. 

Maine, U.S.A.

  We arrived in Maine during what would have been my Christmas vacation for the middle of my junior year in high school. We spent Christmas in a hotel and I was super depressed. I was uprooted and felt out of place. I was in a haze for the next year and a half finishing school and then as I went off to college (in Maryland) I was totally confused. Depression knocked me down and after the first semester of college I had to go back to Maine. So I did…trying to pick myself up again. I think had we not moved I would have been able to pick a better college and felt more comfortable in my own shoes. Too much changed in that small amount of time that I wasn’t able to get a hold of it anymore.

Then it all started to make sense to me. As I grew older and figured myself out started working full time and setting up a 401k, making amazing friends Maine didn’t turn out to be so bad. It was here that I would turn 21 in 2005 (you do the math!) complete with a Hummer limo and I really fell in love with the ocean.

It was in my backyard every day! Now I miss this place probably more than any of the others. More so, I miss the people (Wife, Dbay, Barbie, Banana T’s, Ashmatash, JessJess, Moni….) They know who they are. I had the most amazing memories there…and being in my early 20’s…who wouldn’t?! It certainly is vacationland and I miss it every day. 

Florida, U.S.A.  

Oh Florida, what a strange mistake that was. No I can’t say mistake…it just was an experience. I went with my bestest wife in the world from Maine down to South Beach, Miami and whoa. That place was filled with rich Europeans and lots of drugs. We partied at mansions or clubs. It never really mattered. It was the closest experience we had to being celebrities.

We hung out with millionaires and I’m sure were surrounded by famous people but you can’t tell…everyone blends in. We rarely walked out of our house without being absolutely perfect after all there is some reputation to uphold!! This place was swarming with the most beautiful people I had ever seen in my life. Incredible.

The clubs were something I could have never of dreamed of being in but there we were. In the thick of it. We had friends that would get us into any club we wanted without a wait. You had two options…either have a ton of money or know people. That was the only way. Plus, the more girls on a guys arm, the better. This was a completely different kind of ocean from Maine. People were topless!

And the water was very salty and like bath water – almost too warm.  Also the place I discovered Nuvo – pink vodka drink that I can’t live without! I wouldn’t exchange this experience for a million dollars….or would I? I’m thinking a bachelorette party needs to happen here. Who’s with me ladies??

England

My dearest England! How I love thee!!! I started traveling here when my dad was living near London. I think I was 10 years old or so. What an incredible place to be. I would stay for weeks at a time and really enjoyed it. I would walk down to the corner store and the little Indian dude behind the counter would great me hello and know exactly what I came for – Mars Bars and other lovely things (can’t remember the name as they are now discontinued!) The charm is what got to me. It was perfect in it’s cookie cutter way and the castles…- O. M. G., people…put me in one right now! I would still love to live in England but maybe more so Ireland. Anywhere that I can speak English of course!!

Germany

And here we are. I won’t get into it but Germany is the sweat, blood, and tears capital of the world. These people work their tails off and then in turn seriously know how to relax and have a good time. It’s a fairytale land and I’m so glad I get to be surrounded by mountains so high and wild flowers that are too beautiful you don’t want to cut down. And now, since I’ve probably bored you to pieces with my nonsense about all these different places in my life….I’ll sign off. To learn more about my life in Germany just read my earlier posts! 🙂 

Until next time, readers!! xoxoxoxoxox

One thought on “30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 11

Leave a Reply

