30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 6

Before I get started I just HAVE to say that my mommy sent me a package on June 8th. It arrived yesterday. Seriously people?? What is wrong with your system?!?! Take package – scan – put on truck – scan – put on plane – scan – customs – scan – put on truck – scan – put in my hands. WHY IS THIS SO HARD?! Either way I’m not complaining because I’m excited that I finally got all my Sephora stuff and a wicked cute dress that my mom picked out for me (pink of course!! and it fits perfectly, mom! thanks!) and some other fun stuff from my home town and from mommy. Now I’m just waiting for the second one to arrive. I’m sure that will be another 2 weeks!

Day 6 – Something You’re Afraid Of

This is actually perfect for today. The other night I got ready for bed and felt a little funny, I was hearing weird noises all night but figured it was just the house settling and normal noises you hear when you’re home alone and there is no other noise. I haven’t had my dog home with me for a week or so and Toblerone is MIA due to other reasons, which I will explain at a later date. SO – I hoped in my bed, read my book (Water for Elephants – love it!) and then it all started. I start hearing walking around up in the attic, doors creaking downstairs. It’s all around me. I can hear mumbling voices, not enough to detect words, just to know that it’s definitely talking. At this point, I’m scared out of my BRAIN! Oh wait…it gets better.

I turn off the light, grab this massive flashlight that Toblerone keeps by his side of the bed. Let me explain this process. We have a giant bed…I mean giant…we can easily fit 5 people in it and still have room. So it’s more like me crawling to Afghanistan to get this stupid flashlight. It’s super heavy and could do some SERIOUS damage so I lift this thing and ponder all the different ways to attack someone in the dark with a flashlight. I also consider jumping out of my bedroom window only to remember that I wouldn’t be going very far in underwear and no keys to a car.

I’m literally laying there for 2 hours from midnight to 2am on the nose and then…. BAM! My night-stand light turns on. I about crap the bed. Eyes wide open and nothing in the room I start to get really scared. Now, this light is a touch light. It ONLY turns on with the human touch. I had books up against it and a necklace and what have you and it didn’t turn on. So, I still moved everything far from it, turned off the light and try to fall alseep. The noises continue not like crazy it’s just every so often I hear something. My chest is tight as I clench my hand around the heavy duty flashlight. (Seriously, as I’m writing this I have anxiety and my heart is racing.) Then…exactly 15 minutes later… BAM! The light turns on again. This time there is no explanation for why this is turning on. Absolutely NOTHING!

I somehow have the nerve to get up out of bed and go out into the hallway. This is all completely freaking me out so of course I decide now that I need to use the bathroom or I’ll never go to sleep. And so I do, checking in the shower, behind the door and waving my flashlight like a samurai. I go back into my room, shut the door this time and lock it. I call Toblerone and wake him up crying and shaking with fear. Enter stage left the Father-in-law. It’s now 3am in the morning and he jumped out of bed and drove the 15 minutes to come get me.

Luckily, when I get to Toberlone’s parents house everyone is nice and comforting. I felt so much better and as I lay down in my bed, his mom comes in and says, “Get up, you’re having a drink!” She pours me something like whiskey or bourbon and there I sat at now a quarter to 4am drinking this fantastic relaxer.

The funny part is, this wasn’t what I was going to write about. I was going to write about how my endometriosis scares me and I’m afraid I’ll never have a child of my own one day. But this story was insane. I just had to share it. We don’t know what it all was and I will be staying at their house until Toblerone comes home. What am I scared of you ask? Not being able to protect myself and my family. I thought about this last night about crazy stories you hear about people that enter your house and murder you in brutal ways. We all remember the story BTK serial killer

or the infamous Ted Bundy. I think about this stuff more than I should or probably more than is healthy but when you’re alone in a country where you don’t know a single neighbor to call just to come check on things or all your friends are farther away than you think, it’s just something that scares me.

Thinking about it now, the craziest things happen to me…I need to check into that. Maybe it’s someone trying to tell me something. I’m not a fan of the whole ghost thing either. Oh well, we’re getting new lamps (not the touch kind) and installing an alarm system just because I said so. 🙂

All is well folks! Moving right along!

Until next time, readers! xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

