A Lake, A Castle, And A Church Walked Into A Bar

As I had mentioned to you in my last post, my buddy RyRy  came to visit me here at my new home! We had a great time but the most important thing was to see a familiar face in a very unfamiliar place. RyRy has come to visit me when I lived in South Beach – Miami, Maine, Maryland, and now Germany. He’s always been that friend that when he says he’s coming to visit, he means it. Other people throw around the idea and then never end up coming so it’s good that I have him!

Of course he loaded up his bag with peanut butter and fun things from my family! So excited to see everything and hold onto the things I know just hours before my family was holding. I’m starting to miss them more each day. Thankfully I’m heading home in August for a few weeks! YES!!!!!

The first day RyRy arrived Toblerone picked him up from the airport and threw him into a car full of 4 other guys and cold beers. Off they went to a soccer game and then to Frühlingsfest (a Spring festival similar to Oktoberfest but on a much smaller scale.) I went out with the girls and prepared for RyRy to arrive at the house the following day. As soon as I saw the car pull up I was SO excited to see him and was prepared to pack in as much adventure as possible! Let’s not forget that I don’t venture out on my own normally. I usually have someone taking me places, etc. So this was also a good time for me to pull my act together and start exploring!

Due to the fact that we took so many pictures, I have to throw them into a slideshow! First, a run down of what we did so you can see this in the pictures.

Day One – RyRy and Toblerone to a soccer game and Spring festival
The girls dress in their drindls and the boys in their lederhosen but it’s not as expected of you as it is during the Oktoberfest. There’s lots of terrible songs like “Take Me Home, Country Road” by John Denver and the “YMCA.” As described by RyRy though – he has never seen so many people completely uninhabited in one place. I’m saving my christening for the Oktoberfest. 

Day Two – Old Church and a walk around the grounds, Geo-caching, Lake Constance, Amazing dinner, and buildings older than we can understand! 

         This church is beautiful and on a great sunny and clear day the view is spectacular! Of course, my favorite are all the paths mowed specifically for the avid walkers, trekkers, or hikers. Great place for mountain biking too! We walked up there with a few beers and walked around for a bit, cursing ourselves for talking about high school and really loving the sites around. You can’t find a place like this in the US. There is nothing like it. Sorry folks! All you get is pictures until you come and visit!!  Then the Geo-caching was a good time! For those of you that don’t know what it is: People hide things from trinkets to the rights to a brand new car. You’re given exact coordinates and then have a small clue to go and find it. RyRy is big into this so we’ll be doing more of this when he gets back. We ended up finding one that wasn’t anything special but you log your name and the date you were there. Very fun! 

      After this we went to Lake Constance again for more excitement! We walked the streets just checking out the sites and down to the lake. Making our way to a great restaurant right on the River Rhine. Perfect weather and cocktails to go made this trip incredible. Not to mention the mix of modern architecture with the old world houses/buildings. We were literally standing up against buildings that were from the 1300 and 1400’s. I can’t even begin to picture that in my mind what it looked like back then. Some of the old look of it was still there. We’re talking about peasants, medieval times, disease, non-existent sanitation, women in long dresses, medicine was based on superstition more than anything. I mean, crazy crazy times. Talking about it in school or watching movies doesn’t give you a real sense of this until you see the villages with your own eyes. You can almost hear the sounds from that Era. Eerie to say the least. 


Day Three – Hohohenzollern Castle (where the single 35yr old (HOT!!!) prince still lives), tour of the castle and checking out a family tree and heirlooms that dates back to year 1027 of the royal family. Old as dirt!

The castle is one I went to during the winter months for the famous Christmas markets here. This time, I brought Ryan and the sun was shining and we would take a tour! For 10 Euro we could do all of that. Since there’s some hot prince dude still living there most of the castle is off-limits but we got to see quite a bit I would say. This one isn’t huge like some other ones I’ve seen in England but it’s obviously much bigger than anything I’ve ever lived in so I’ll shut up now about that. The first room you walk into though is incredible. Every wall is covered with the family tree dating all the way back to the year 1027. Reading some of the names you can see the Frederich family was a big part in this and is not the current residents of the castle. Although this castle has been restored it was fun to see the old clothes of the Queen and tobacco boxes of the princes that once lived here – oh and of course the crowns. ( I knew I put them somewhere!!) 

So for now enjoy the slideshow! It was too hard to post that many photos one by one so the slide show is the best option. Also known as me being too lazy.

As I’m writing this our bathroom is being installed!!! YIPPEEE!!!! If you remember back from the previous post about our choice of sink and etc…well folks…it has been built and arrived!! I can’t tell you how excited I am to finally have drawers for all my make-up!! More on that tomorrow!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “A Lake, A Castle, And A Church Walked Into A Bar

  1. Packing my bags NOW! May have to put them under my bed for awhile though. Totally enjoying your blog. Thanks for the tour via Ry’s visit. This Mama LOVES the flowers!

  2. The lads look like they had a good time at the footy game [soccer to the heathens], good to see the juice flowing well.

    Didn’t reckon much to their castle, but then being English, I would say that wouldn’t I.

    Some great views, some wonderful buildings and architecture, remind me a little of Amsterdam in appearance.

    Thanks for the slideshow, enjoyed it very much, better than the dross on the TV for sure.

Leave a Reply

