Is He “The One?”

I was having a conversation with my best friend about relationships in general and throughout my blabbering I came to the conclusion that I hate when people say, “I knew he/she was the one the day I met them.” That’s bologna! I’m a dreamer but I’m also a realist and the reality is this:

I’m like most girls. When I meet a guy I’m attracted to, usually the first thing that comes out of my mouth is, “Oh my god, I’m in love with him…I want to marry him.” I used to fall in love…a lot….and…that meant going home at weird hours of the morning in high heels and dresses knowing that I would never hear from him again. (I never said I was perfect!) Such is the young life I lived! But how quickly I would get over the lust I felt for them. Everything looked grand on the outside but if I had spent any more time with them I would go crazy. Here’s the thing, I know and most people know that once you get to truly understand someone then can you really start to develop true feelings for them.

 The majority of my relationships have been built on lust and that eventually developed into finding ways to get out of it. My relationship I’m in currently was somewhat similar in the beginning…lust and that’s it, but as time went on and the two of us went through a few hardships together (and some drama) I’ve come to realize that he is, the one for me. I didn’t always know that he would be…I think it’s nice to say that to someone but I always tell him, “I was born to love you.” This suggests that I’ve always known I would fall in love with someone deeply, and that eventually in time I would….just happened to be him!

There are some days that I want to rip his head off and leave him (maybe that’s a little over exaggerated but you get my drift) and there are days when I miss him if he’s gone for 5 minutes. At the end of the day though, I can’t imagine him not in my life. It brings me to tears of the mere thought of anything happening to him. Also, I can’t wait to have children with him. He’s going to be amazing. One of my longer relationships before Toblerone was pretty intense. Like 3 years too long. He was fun and a total ride of excitement every other day (he’s bi-polar, I tend to attract them.) I tried to imagine my future with him and it was difficult because it was only a dream, not reality and deep down I knew that.

 I just really think it’s important to give each person (who’s worth it…most aren’t) the chance to understand if he/she is right for you. I’ve been in situations that I’m glad I’m no longer in. My life would be completely different…and not in a good way. I’m glad I found my “one.”

Leave a Reply

