Holiday Season vs Close-Minded People!

I’ve been trying to keep my mouth shut and just allow people to wish you the best for the holidays as they please. I celebrate Christmas but am not religious in any manner. For me and my family, Christmas is a time for us to gather and be thankful for our health and happiness. Of course, to celebrate presents as well! Obviously!

But what gets me is the way people ignorantly express their wishes for you. Today at work I received the following email. This email came from a colleague of mine who sent this out to all employees in three different locations across the globe. This means, it would reach over 3,000 people! This person isn’t upper management, just one of those annoying people that send out trillions of emails that have nothing to do with work!

“I would like to wish all of you a Blessed Holy Christmas and a Happy New Year filled with God’s Grace and Mercy.”

Each word was a different color and underlined where he felt it necessary. I haven’t corrected anyone as of yet but I’m two second away from going OFF on this guy and letting him know that we, being a global company especially, have many people from many different walks of life and different beliefs. A “Happy Holidays and Happy New Year” would have sufficed but no…he took it to the next level and disrespected not only me but I’m sure other people who work here that are Jewish, Atheist, and whatever else!

For those of my close friends who I know celebrate Christmas in a religious manner, I make sure to say “Merry Christmas” and to everyone else, “Happy Holidays.” Why is it so hard for people to get that? Stop pushing your religion on everyone else! I don’t want a new year filled with “god’s grace and mercy”!!!!

Sorry if I offended anyone but quite honestly, I’ve had it up to here!! (I’m gesturing above my head…lol) For years now, everyone talks about being politically correct especially around the holidays…I just wish people would crawl out of their holes and think a little bit before they speak! You never know who you may be offending!

End of rant.

Leave a Reply

